DHSS News Promoting the health and well-being of Alaskans. June 2019

DHSS Administrative News

  • The Alaska Department of Health and Social Services is proposing to change the “72 hour rule” to increase the time provided to complete records for Medicaid reimbursement to align with American Medical standards of 14 days for documentation.  Public notice of this rule change was posted on Aug. 14, 2019. View the proposed regulation via the online public notices and submit comments by Oct. 2, 2019. Please direct any questions to douglas.jones@alaska.gov.

  • Substance Misuse and Addiction Prevention: You may have received a notice about the Voluntary Non-Opioid Directive (VNOD). The VNOD aims to prevent providers from inadvertently offering certain controlled substances to those who could be adversely affected and empowers patients to proactively inform their providers if they do not wish to receive opioids for any reason. I’ve heard questions from providers about how this might work in practice. We want to hear your thoughts about this voluntary directive. Please contact Tessa Walker Linderman at (907) 334-2251 or tessa.walker.linderman@alaska.gov if you have ideas about how to make this tool and statute work best for both you and your patients as we work through details.

  • CME Opportunities: There are additional educational resources and practice tools available here to assist in pain management, opioid prescribing, and addiction.  You can also view CME opportunities on these topics here

 

 

Please enable images for a better experience.